5 New White Plains Police Officers Graduate from Westchester Police Academy


WPCNR POLICE GAZETTE. From the Westchester County Department of Communications. May 24, 2014:

Sixty-three police recruits graduated Friday from the Westchester County Police Academy and are headed off to work at 21 departments in Westchester and four others in the region.

Five of the Police Academy graduates will be new officiers in the White Plains Department of Public Safety. They are: Tara Altamuro, Lianna Fallon, David Garcia, Christopher Johnson, Brennan Lasher 

The new officers, who completed 20 weeks of training at the police academy in Valhalla, received their diplomas during a ceremony at the Performing Arts Center of the State University of New York at Purchase.

Public Safety Commissioner George N. Longworth addressed the graduates of the 137th Session Basic Police Recruit Class and wished them well in their careers.

He urged the graduates to remember that the Police Academy marked only the beginning of the ongoing training and education it takes to be a police officer.

“Police work is a dynamic, ever-changing profession,” said Longworth. “Although you have completed the Academy, the need for training never stops.  The day you think you have nothing left to learn is the day you stop being the best cop you can be.”

In addition, Deputy County Executive Kevin J. Plunkett reminded the graduates of how important their jobs are to Westchester, and congratulated them for successfully completing the demanding academic and physical challenges they faced at the academy.

“We know that the training we provide in Westchester for police recruits is second to none,” said Plunkett. “I am grateful to the Police Academy staff and the visiting instructors for preparing these new officers for the demands that lie ahead.”

The ceremony concluded with Longworth welcoming the graduates “to the Westchester law enforcement family and the greatest job in the world.”


The other new officers and their departments in Westchester are:

Ardsley: David Piccolino

Bedford: Nancy Pietrzyk

Croton-on-Hudson: Eric Peterman

     Eastchester: James Kehoe, Robert Krause, Charles Mineo

Dobbs Ferry: Jamie Castiello

Greenburgh: Courtney Doherty, Geoffrey Hart, Mark Maiden

     Harrison: Daniel Caldarola, Joseph DeRubeis, Frank Luongo, Jonathan Mezzancello, Charles Pascale,

Hastings: Bruce Marquez

Mount Vernon: Racquel Davidson, Antoine Henrys, Avion Lee, Ravin Palmer, Natalie

Powell, William Stapleton, Curtis Subryan

New Rochelle: John Care, Robert Johnson, Daniel Maldonado, Robert Mansfield, Michael Martins,

Christine Walsh

North Castle: Kyle McCarrick, Anthony Sabatella

Peekskill: Gerrit Dykstra

Pelham Manor: Paul Roberts

     Pleasantville: Vincent Velardo

Rye:  Latoya Anderson, Lansing Hinrichs

Scarsdale: James Gannon, Jesse Gold, Brett Purpura

Tuckahoe: Daniel Coughlin, Ashley Tuccitto

Yonkers: Neville Bennett, Paul Bousche, Jessica Day, Hewitt DePass, Robert Metz

Yorktown: Thomas Beyrer

Westchester County: Paul DeSousa, Richard Lepore, Michael McAllister

The remaining graduates and their departments:

Brewster: Nicholas Mirko

Putnam County Sheriff: Joseph Diaz, Eric Hayes, Charles Johnson, Benjamin Levine

Glen Cove: Matthew Gillespie, Katherine Theodorou

City of Poughkeepsie: Frederick Yerks

Comments are closed.