Governor Hochul Wins Democratic Primary for Governor. Mary Jane Shimsky Defeats Tom Abinanti

Hits: 307

WPCNR CAMPAIGN 2022. June 29, 2022 UPDATED 2:15 P.M.:

The Westchester County Board of Elections reports that County Legislator MaryJane Shimsky has defeated Thomas Abinanti, the longtime NY Assemblyman from the 92nd District (Greenburgh to Tarrytown). Ms. Shimsky defeat Mr. Abinanti by 892 votes, 4,586 to 3,694.

Governor Kathy Hochul defeated the field handily to win the Democrat Party Nomination for Governor in November. Her opponent at this time appears to Lee Zeldin is leading Andrew Giuliani for the Republican Primary nomination to run against Ms. Hochul.

Ms. Shimsky gave this statement this afternoon:

“I am honored by the voters’ support and proud to be the Democratic nominee for Assembly in the 92nd District. This race was about fighting for our Democratic values – to believe science and fight for healthcare resources; to deliver protections for reproductive rights and stand up for equality; to fix our crumbling infrastructure and make it more resilient to climate change; and to work collaboratively in so many ways to bring a better future for our families. Democrats in the 92nd Assembly District made it clear they’re ready for change; now we move forward to November, where we’ll all be working to elect and re-elect Democrats up and down the ballot. 

“This victory would not be possible without the support, time, and dedication of so many. I want to thank my family for their never-ending patience and support, my tireless campaign team, and the scores of volunteers who talked to thousands of voters. 

“Thank you to the local leaders who endorsed me including Greenburgh Democratic Chair Steve Bass, Westchester Democratic Chair Suzanne Berger, Westchester Deputy County Executive Ken Jenkins, Westchester County Board of Legislators Chair Catherine Borgia, Westchester County Board of Legislators Vice Chair Nancy Barr, Westchester County Board of Legislators Majority Leader Christopher Johnson, Westchester County Board of Legislators Majority Whip José Alvarado, Westchester County Legislator Benjamin Boykin II, Westchester County Legislator Vedat Gashi, Westchester County Legislator Erika Pierce, Westchester County Legislator Colin Smith, Westchester County Legislator David Tubiolo, Westchester County Legislator Jewel Williams Johnson, Westchester County Legislator Tyrae Woodson-Samuels, Former Westchester County Legislator Alfreda Williams, Former Yonkers City Council Member Symra Brandon, Greenburgh Town Council Member Ellen Hendrickx, Greenburgh Town Council Member Gina Jackson, Former Greenburgh Town Council Member Eddie Mae Barnes, Ardsley Mayor Nancy Kaboolian, Ardsley Deputy Mayor Andy DiJusto, Former Ardsley Mayor Jay Leon, Dobbs Ferry Deputy Mayor Donna Cassell, Former Dobbs Ferry Village Trustee Maura Daroczy, Elmsford Village Trustee Matthew Evans, Hastings-on-Hudson Village Trustee Tom Drake, Irvington Village Trustee Mitchell Bard, Irvington Village Trustee Arlene Burgos, Former Irvington Village Trustee Constance Kehoe, Pleasantville Village Trustee David Vinjamuri, and Tarrytown Deputy Mayor Becky McGovern.”  

“Thank you to the Westchester County Democratic Committee, the Working Families Party, the Hispanic Democrats of Westchester, Eleanor’s Legacy, Tenants PAC, LiUNA, and Westchester County Corrections Superior Officers Association for standing with me. 

“Most importantly, thank you to the voters who made their voices heard during this election and voted for new representation in Albany.” 

Comments are closed.