Hits: 50

WPCNR SCHOOL DAYS. From the White Plains City School District. March 25, 2014:

White Plains High School Senior Claire M. Nataro was been named a 2014 National Merit Scholarship Finalist.  She is among the 15,000 Finalists nationwide, selected from 1.5 million entrants. and is now eligible to earn one of the 8,000 National Merit Scholarships.

A member of the Band and an All-County Musician, Nataro has participated in the New York State School Music Association Festival for the last six years.  She is a private flute teacher and is also a member and current Captain of the school’s Swim Team.  Honors she has received include the Yale Book Award, the AP Scholar Award, and National Honor Society recognition.

Selected as a Semifinalist was Max A. Golden, and the following were named Commended Students:  Louisa C. Abbott, Shamus C. Cardon, Theodore M. Chomiak, Arielle K. Hazi, Sarah A. Lumelsky, Rachel Y. Okun, Vivekanand Tatineni and Samuel L. Woehr.

In the National Achievement Scholarship Program, which provides recognition for outstanding Black American high school students, Ayan S. Waite was named a Winner and Najah A. Banks was named Outstanding Participant.

Five students were named National Hispanic Recognition Scholars:  Brian Laplaca, Kiara R. Barone, David Laguna, Germain Meza and Amanda Soyk.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation, a not-for-profit organization, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the National Merit Program, which honors the nation’s academically talented high school seniors and encourages the pursuit of academic excellence.

Comments are closed.